Shot myself in the foot

I admit it. I shot myself in the foot.

By my age, you’d think a person would know not to do that: Don’t take actions that undermine joy in life. Make good decisions. Don’t put too much weight on scary predictions. Take everything one step at a time.

But I did.

So what now?

Don’t shoot yourself in the head.

That is to say, don’t make yourself miserable and stressed by fretting about how you shot yourself in the foot. Go take care of the wound. Spend a little time figuring out how you managed to shoot yourself, and what you can do differently next time. Then stop. Move on. Next!

Life is too short to dwell on errors.

Blame and self-loathing are not helpful. Even murderers find redemption and forgiveness. Why am I being so hard on myself for a mistake?

Let go. Breathe. Next adventure!

About Eileen

Caring for my elderly father and launching my college-age daughter, I am definitely the filling in this sandwich!
This entry was posted in Life, Retirement and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment